Tornado watch, schools, courthouse, commission office closed

Published 4:27 pm Tuesday, April 4, 2017

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The National Weather Service has issue a tornado watch for today, April 05 that went into effect at 1:50 p.m. and which will not expire until 9 p.m. tonight.
Areas affected include:Autauga; Barbour; Bibb; Blount; Bullock; Calhoun; Chambers; Cherokee; Chilton; Clay; Cleburne; Colbert; Coosa; Cullman; DeKalb; Elmore; Etowah; Fayette; Franklin; Jackson; Jefferson; Lauderdale; Lawrence; Lee; Limestone; Lowndes; Macon; Madison; Marion; Marshall; Montgomery; Morgan; Randolph; Russell; Shelby; St. Clair; Talladega; Tallapoosa; Tuscaloosa; Walker; and Winston Counties.
Lowndes Academy and all schools and offices in the Lowndes County Public School System will be closed today, Wednesday, April 5, due to the threat of severe weather.
In addition, it was announced yesterday and Sheriff John Williams confirmed the Lowndes County Courthouse was to be closed today, Wednesday, April 5 at 2 p.m. And County Commission Administrator Jackie Thomas said today that the commission office would also be closed today at 2 p.m.