Happy Father’s Day from Head Start

Published 6:00 pm Sunday, June 16, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By Laura James Hunter

Special to The Lowndes Signal

Studies by the Department of Health and Human Services conclude that children with positive male role models have a foundation to become a high school graduate and beyond. 

Email newsletter signup

Lowndes County Board of Education Head Start has been fortunate to have a great deal of male involvement during the 2023-2024 program year.

Head Start would like to wish all fathers, grandfathers, male figures, and community partners a Happy Father’s Day. We especially want to acknowledge those who donated their time and items during the 2023-2024 program year, which generated in-kind dollars.

Men who have been involved with Head Start programs include:

Central Head Start: Will Clark, Jr., Lee Coleman, Jr., Archie Curtis, Rev. Herman Dade, Rev. Ben Davis, Rodrick Davis, Jerry Gordon, Fletcher Hayes. Steve Hill, Sr., Chirstopher Howard, Sr., Judge Adrian Johnson, Commissioner Charlie King, Jr., Shathon Logan, Sr., Reverend Jessie McCall, Vester McCovery, Jr., James Means, Coroner Terrell Means, David Miles, Frank Milton III, Chief Kelvin Mitchell, Benard Morgan, Eric Myles, Sr..Arthur Nelson, Sr., LeMonte Prater, Eli Seaborn, Deonte Smith, James Smith, Nataz West, Sr., Lee Williams and Officer P.J. Williams.

Fort Deposit Head Start: Frederick Baity, Jermarques Davison, Ra’Sean Fountain, Devontay Grant, Dominique Harriel, Sr., Matthew Hunter, John Jenkins, Quinterris Jenkins, Zebbie Jenkins, Jeramy Johnson, Sr., Terrell Jordan, Lamarius Lovejoy, Emillio McCall, JaMichael McCall, Travis Mendenhall, Tom Powell III, Tom Powell IV, Commissioner Joshua Simmons, Sr., Carl Smith, Steven Tillman, Henry Tolliver and McDaniel Woods.

Jackson-Steele Head Start: Commissioner Robert Harris, Dwayne Jackson, Haigler Johnson, Jr., Adell Raven and Keary Rudolph.

Central Office: Ranger George Hunter, Jr., Roscoe Miller, Ranger Joseph Ponder, Hoffman Rhyne, Jr., W.W. Steele and Mike Truelove.