Board of Education honors stakeholders of the quarter

Published 2:00 pm Thursday, January 11, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Lowndes County Board of Education held an awards ceremony on Dec. 14, 2023, to honor outstanding stakeholders of the quarter. Among those recognized was Faron Washington, an employee of the transportation department, who was commended for his exceptional work and dedication, earning him the title of Transportation Department Employee of the Quarter.

Washington, who has been a diesel mechanic since 1986 and joined Lowndes County Public Schools as shop foreman in 2022, expressed his gratitude for the recognition. 

“It feels good being recognized for the work you do, but I couldn’t do it by myself,” Washington said. “I’ve got two great associates, Dillard Watson and Kevin Thomas, that help me get things done.”

Email newsletter signup

The ceremony also recognized other outstanding individuals. Dr. Kenneth Fair from the Central Office was named Administrator of the Quarter for his exemplary leadership and dedication. Mr. and Mrs. Ra’Sean Fountain were honored as Parents of the Quarter, acknowledging their support and involvement in their children’s education. Zamiyah Lewis from Hayneville Middle School stood out as the Student of the Quarter, showcasing outstanding academic achievements and involvement in school activities.

Bishop Kenneth Scott was recognized as Volunteer of the Quarter for his commitment to serving the educational needs of the community. Quandria Orum from Central High School was celebrated as Support [Personnel] of the Quarter, highlighting her valuable contributions to the school’s success. 

Katlyn Patterson, was honored for her outstanding service and commitment to early childhood education as the Head Start Staff of the Quarter. Archie Curtis, principal of Central High School, was recognized as Principal of the Quarter for his exceptional leadership and commitment to the school’s success.

The ceremony highlighted the dedication and excellence of these individuals, showcasing their valuable contributions to the education community in Lowndes County.