Fountain, Daniel face runoffs, Walker falls in mayoral races

Published 9:55 pm Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By Fred Guarino

The Lowndes Signal
As a result of municipal elections held across Lowndes County Tuesday, Aug. 23, incumbent Mayor Fletcher Fountain of Fort Deposit and incumbent Mayor David Daniel of Hayneville will face challengers in runoff elections to be held Oct. 4. And in White Hall, incumbent Mayor James Walker lost his reelection bid to another former mayor.
Fort Deposit
In the race for mayor of Fort Deposit, there will be a runoff between Barry Robinson and Fountain.
Fountain received 300 votes to 267 for Robinson. And Irish Simmons, the third candidate in the race there for mayor, received 84 votes.
Two unopposed incumbents qualified for council seats in Fort Deposit leaving three seats unfilled.
In District One, incumbent Darrell Heartsill was unopposed, leaving one seat open.
And in District Two, incumbent Jacqulyn D. Boone was unopposed, leaving two seats open.
In the race for mayor of Hayneville Daniel will face Shewillius Willie Payton in a runoff.
Daniel received 162 votes to 117 votes for Payton. Connie Tyson-Johnson received 82 votes.
In District A council races : Lula Tyson-Bailey received 93 votes, Rickey Bell (incumbent) received 71 votes, Roy Meadows received 102 votes, Kim Payton
(incumbent) received 129 votes and Carole C. Scushy (incumbent) received 85 votes.
That means Bailey Meadows and Payton won election.
In District B council races : George Lee Davis (incumbent) received 42 votes, Cynthia P. McDonald received 74 votes, Sheryll Deloris Phipher (incumbent) received 54 votes and Sharon Reeves received 60 votes.
That means McDonald and Reeves won election.
Town of White Hall
In the race for mayor of White Hall, Walker lost his bid for re election to recently appointed Council Member/former Mayor Elizabeth Davis.
And incumbent Council member Eli Seaborn, who serves as mayor pro tem, held off a challenge from Jean Harris for Council Seat 4.
Davis defeated Walker 249 votes to 45. And Seaborn defeated Harris 239 to 48.
All other council seats were unopposed. Seat 1, Ceodis Baker incumbent; Seat 2, incumbent Joyce Barnfield incumbent; Seat 3 incumbent Ruby Rudolph incumbent, and Seat 5, Delmatre’ Bethel was unopposed.
Mayor Walter S. Hill (incumbent) and all council seat candidates were unopposed.
Council: Willie B. Hill, Seat 1 (incumbent); Sharon D. Bell, Seat 2 (incumbent); Elaine Rudolph, Seat 3 (incumbent); Joe E. Bell Sr., Seat 4. No one qualified to fill Council Seat 5 which will remain open.
Incumbent Mayor Donny Cooper and all council seat candidates were unopposed. Council: Jim Mason, Allen Page, Duke Logan and Dan Rhyne (all incumbents) and Jerome Hand.
Incumbent Mayor Richard S. Pate and all council seat candidates were unopposed.
Council: Place 1, James W. Adams,Council Place 2 Connie R. Blair, Council Place 3, Anne Spooner, Council Place 4, Caswell McCurdy and Council Place 5, Jerry Ingram, all incumbents.
Incumbent Mayor Orbuty Ozier and all council seat candidates were unopposed.
Council: Queen Stallworth, Annie Campbell, Mildred L. Works and Agnita D. Jackson, all incumbents.

Email newsletter signup