Lowndes County Relay for Life holds 2014 Survivors Banquet

Published 6:17 pm Friday, March 28, 2014

By Fred Guarino
The Lowndes Signal
“Dream Big, Hope Big, Relay Big, Mari Gras Style.”
That will be the theme for the American Cancer Society 2014 Lowndes County Relay for Life at the Russell Baseball Complex in Hayneville set for April 25.

But Saturday, March 22, in preparation for this year’s event, the Lowndes County Relay for Life celebrated survivors Mardi gras style at the Hayneville Baptist Church Family Life Center.

Honored were cancer survivors including: Laura Gresham, Kittis M. Robinson, Linda Hamilton, Evelyn Hardy, Gloria Hill, Rachel Jones, Mary Davis, Bessie McMeans, Rebecca Hawkins, Rose Rowe, Valeria Reese, Arlinda Jackson, Sandra Robinson, Yolanda Thomas, Perry Kelly Jr., Dorothy Kelly, Clifford Jackson Sr., Annie Washington, Cassandra Washington, Arthur Jackson, Patricia Farrior, Floretta H. Timmons;

Email newsletter signup

Stephanie Blackmon, James Walker, Millie Bozeman, Joanna Gregory, Mattie McMeans, Mattie Taylor, Sharon Taylor Wright and Rosie B. Williams.

Listed were: Master of Ceremonies Deacon Perry Kelly, blessing by Pastor Willie D. Lewis, song by Lloyd Johnson, entertainment by Lowndesboro Baptist Praise Dancers, song by Kimberly Thomas, introduction of speaker by Esther Jackson, guest speaker Clifford Jackson and survivors recognition by Lakesia McCovery.

Piggly Wiggly in White Hall, Winn Dixie on the Mobile Highway and Blue Bell Creameries sponsored the banquet.

Sponsors include: Gold Sponsor ($2,500) SABIC – IP; Silver Sponsors (1,000 – $2,499) Lily Missionary Baptist Church and Macedonia Baptist Church; Bronze ($500 – $999) Hayneville Baptist Church and Piggly Wiggly – White Hall; Hospitality Dr. Thomas and Lyn Cawthon and Eddie Hinson; Stage ($250 – $499) Ruby Jones-Thomas – circuit clerk, Tom Cocker & Associates, Jimmy Davis Auto Repair, Casey Feed LLC and Lowndes County Commission; Honorable Mention ($100) Willie Arnold, Chappell Tire LLC, First Citizens Bank, Larry’s Drive In, Subway – Fort Deposit and American Colloid Company.

The Survivorship Committee includes Laura Gresham, chairperson, Mattie Hill, catering service, Amy James and Alice Smith, desserts and decorations, Callie Griffin.

There are 20 teams this year include Pink Flamingos, Educators Against Cancer, Yolanda Thomas Crusaders, Lt. Green’s Army, Great Mt. Olive Warriors, SWACTEAM, Rock Creek Conquers, DHR Stars, Lilly Fight for Life, Touch By An Angel, Snow Hillians Angels, Fighting to Win Army, HIPPY, The Mount of Olives, SABIC Burkville, Granny’s Warriors, Legal Eagles 2014, The Faithful Few and Court House Annex.