Democratic Party qualifiers for local Lowndes County offices announced

Published 4:13 pm Monday, February 10, 2014

By Fred Guarino
The Lowndes Signal

The Lowndes County Democratic Executive Committee has announced candidates who qualified for the June 2014 Democratic Primary.

The deadline to qualify was Friday, Feb. 7. The primary will be held June 3 and any necessary runoff will be held July 15.
According to Eli Seaborn, chairman, candidates who have qualified include:

Email newsletter signup

Sheriff: Current Sheriff John Williams, Jerome McQueen, T. Curtis Campbell, Derrick Maull and Gary Harden.

Coroner: Current Coroner Doris Alexander, Cassandra Smith and Carmelita Arnold.

Tax Collector: Current Tax Collector Roslyn Smith.
Tax Assessor: Current Tax Collector Connie Martin.
County Commissioner place Number One: Incumbent Robert Harris and Wilbert Barnfield.

County Commissioner place Number Four, incumbent Joey Barganier.

Board of Education place Number One, incumbent Ben Davis and Kim Stewart.

Board of Education place Number Two, incumbent Robert Grant and Rodney Rudolph.

Board of Education place Number Five, Joe Pernell, Roy Phifer and Travis Rogers.

Democratic Executive Committee: Unless marked new, those who qualified are incumbents, Joey Barganier, John Hulett (new), Debra Harris, Samuel Howard, Yvette Patterson, Loretta Moss, Ida Poole, Gwen Thicklin, Jimmie Stringer, Dianne Stuckey, Lashandra Myrick, Kelly Lambert, Eli Seaborn, Steve Foster, Dickson Farrior, Charlie Walker (new), Debra Caldwell Bush (new) and Barbara Evans (new).

According to Seaborn, “Each candidate for the Democratic Executive Committee, who qualified to run, will not appear on the June ballot. All are considered elected after the primary election.”