BOE holds gala to recognize outstanding students, teachers

Published 11:04 am Thursday, May 17, 2012

The Lowndes County Board of Education held its annual Recognition Gala Tuesday night at Central High School. From front left are Parent of the Year Antoinette Gary, Support Personnel of the Year Lucy Vaughner, Teacher of the Year Eloise Jenkins and Student of the Year TyArronian Taylor. Second row from left are Principal of the Year Kimberly Washington, Administrator of the Year Jason Burroughs and Volunteer of the Year Sabrina Taylor.

By Fred Guarino
The Lowndes Signal

The Lowndes County Board of Education presented its student, support personnel, teacher, parent, volunteer, principal and administrator of the year awards Tuesday night.

The Student of the Year Award went to TyAaronian Taylor, a fifth grader at Fort Deposit Elementary. Other nominees were Tatyanna Carnes, a third grader at Jackson-Steele Elementary; Javarius Heart, no longer lives in the district; and Jamie Taylor, a fourth grader at Central Elementary.

Email newsletter signup

Support Personnel of the Year went to Lucy Vaughner of the Central Office. Other nominees were Carol Davis of Central Elementary, Cathy Robinson of Central Elementary and Vanessa Logan of Lowndes Middle.

The Teacher of the Year is Eloise Jenkins of Fort Deposit Elementary. Other nominees were Clifford Porter of Central High, Elizabeth Flachsbart of The Calhoun School and Erica Chatman of Hayneville Middle.

Parent of the Year is Antoinette Gary of Jackson-Steele Elementary. Other nominees were Josephine Smith of Fort Deposit Elementary, Tonya Holcombe of Hayneville Middle and Elizabeth Thicklin of Lowndes Middle.

Volunteer of the Year went to Sabrina Taylor of Lowndes Middle. Other nominees were Pastor Sylvester Hardy of Hayneville Middle, Lenora Davison of Fort Deposit Elementary and Carlos Rush Sr. of Jackson-Steele Elementary.

Principal of the Year is Kimberly Washington of Jackson-Steele Elementary. Other nominees were Archie Curtis of Lowndes Middle, Kenneth Fair of The Calhoun School and Harvey Means of Central Elementary.

Administrator of the Year is Jason Burroughs, assistant superintendent. Other nominees were Bernard Mitchell, director of federal programs; Deann Stone, coordinator of special education; and Angela Martin, director of human resources.

Volunteers recognized were Patricia Means, 39 years; Alta Logan, 32 years; Glissean Crittenden, 29 years; Lucy Vaughner, 23 years; John Patterson, 12 years; Lee Roy Saffold, 16 years; Ida Brown, 13 years; Fannie Jackson, 26 years; Ruby Trone, 38 years; Emma Coleman, 16 years; Shirley Johnson, 23 years; Alma Billups, 21 years; John Jackson, 13 years; James Walker, 31 years; Lillian McKinnis, 10 years; Geraldine Gipson, 37 years; and Delois Whiting, 39 years.

Partners recognized were the Alabama Reading Initiative, State Sen. Hank Sanders, Katanga Mants of Alabama Cooperative Extension Services, and Dr. Tina Vazin of Alabama State University.