Democrats finish election qualification

Published 12:27 pm Monday, January 30, 2012

By Fred Guarino
The Lowndes Signal

As of Wednesday Jan. 18 only Democrats qualified to run for elected office in Lowndes County in the March 13 Primary Election.

Democratic candidates qualified with Secretary of State Beth Chapman for the offices of circuit court judge, district court judge and circuit clerk.

Email newsletter signup

Candidates qualified with Lowndes County Democratic Executive Committee Chairman Eli Seaborn for the offices of probate judge and County Commission Districts Two, Three and Five.

Incumbent Terri Bozeman Lovell qualified for the office of circuit court judge for Butler, Crenshaw and Lowndes counties.

Incumbent Adrian D. Johnson, Debra (Caldwell) Bush and J.D. Ruffin qualified for the office of district court judge.

And incumbent Ruby A. Jones Thomas qualified for circuit clerk.

Qualifying for the office of probate judge are incumbent John E. Hulett and Debbie Dunklin.

Qualifying for County Commission District Two are Anthony Harris, incumbent Charlie King Jr. and Carnell McAlpine.

Qualifying for County Commission District Three are Brenson Crenshaw Sr., incumbent Marzett Wright Thomas and Steven Thigpen, who withdrew.

Qualifying for County Commission District Five are incumbent Dickson Farrior and Thomas Rodney Perry.

Gary Phillip Harden qualified for the office of Constable District One, but Seaborn said that was not a position open for election.