Lowndesboro boasts award-winning water

Published 6:19 am Friday, March 26, 2010

The Lowndes Signal

City and town governments hold the responsibility to provide citizens with clean, potable water.

However, one town in Lowndes County is priding itself on the superb quality and taste of its water.

Email newsletter signup

Lowndesboro recently attended the 32nd annual Alabama Rural Water Association (ARWA) conference at the Renaissance Convention Center in Montgomery.

Held March 14-17, the conference is also host to a taste test each year to determine which system has the best tasting water.

After much deliberation by judges from the Alabama Department of Environmental Management (ADEM) and the Farm Services Association (FSA), the panel concluded that Lowndesboro had the second-best tasting water in the state of Alabama based on taste, clarity and odor.

“The reason our water tastes better is because we have a deeper well than most other systems,” said Lowndesboro Town Clerk, Brandee McNaughton. “Our well is 1,200 feet deeper than most wells.”

The ARWA is a non-profit organization that represents water and wastewater systems which serve rural communities, towns and commercial firms that support the systems.

Two years ago through the application of grants and loans, Lowndesboro was able to install a new groundwater well to aid in the supply of water to its citizens.

The well pumps about 300 gallons per minute and has seen only one failure this year due to a power surge causing a tripped breaker. Alabama Power is assisting the town in resolving the issue.

No health or monitoring violations have been attributed to the water system year, according to Water Management Services member William Simmons.

Approximately 290 water meters blanket the town, which can provide service to about 800 people on the system.

Within the next two-to-three months, the town will begin its new water tank project to serve more citizens in the area.

Lowndesboro will have the opportunity to contend its water in the National Taste Test in February of 2011, should the first-place winner not be able to attend.