President declares disaster Alabama/Lowndes County

Published 11:45 am Friday, January 22, 2016

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Special to The Lowndes Signal
The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced Friday that federal disaster aid has been made available to the State of Alabama, including Lowndes County, to supplement state, tribal, and local recovery efforts in the area affected by severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding during the period of December 23-31, 2015.
According to FEMA, the president’s action makes federal funding available to state, tribal, and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding in Autauga, Barbour, Blount, Bullock, Butler, Chambers, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, Coffee, Colbert, Conecuh, Covington, Crenshaw, Cullman, Dale, DeKalb, Elmore, Escambia, Fayette, Franklin, Geneva, Henry, Houston, Jackson, Lamar, Lawrence, Lee, Lowndes, Macon, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Perry, Pike, Russell, St. Clair, Walker, and Winston counties.
Federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for the entire state of Alabama.
Elizabeth Turner has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Turner said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Email newsletter signup