Lawrence wins Hayneville, Hill wins Mosses mayors’ races

Published 9:18 pm Tuesday, August 28, 2012

By Fred Guarino
The Lowndes Signal

Kelvin J. Lawrence is the new mayor of Hayneville and Walter S. Hill remains mayor of Mosses as a result of unofficial election returns Tuesday night.

In Hayneville, Lawrence defeated Connie Tyson Johnson for mayor with 188 votes to 116 for the position formerly held by Helenor Bell, who chose not to run again.

Email newsletter signup

Unopposed on the Hayneville Council were incumbent council members David L. Daniel, George L. Davis, Sheryll D. Phipher and Kim Payton. No one qualified for the seat held by Carole Scrushy, which will result in a vacancy.

In Mosses, a total of 510 ballots were cast with Hill winning re-election as mayor with 256 votes.  His opponents Joe E. Bell received 195 votes and Celeste M. Crenshaw received 57 votes.

Running for five at large for spots on the council and winning election were incumbents Willie B. Hill with 325 votes and Teryl Myles with 246. Also winning election were Sharon B. Bell with 214 votes, Annie V. Grant with 293 votes and Jerome Hardy with 282 votes. Callie Thomas missed out with 198 votes.

Fort Deposit results were not available.

In Benton, Gordonville, Lowndesboro and White Hall, all candidates were unopposed.