School system recognizes individuals of the year

Published 5:24 pm Tuesday, May 31, 2011

By Fred Guarino The Lowndes Signal The Lowndes County Public School System recognized individuals of the year who have exceeded standards in seven categories at its fifth annual Gala held Tuesday, May 17 at Central High. Also recognized were retirees and outstanding partners.

Angela Martin, director of human resources for the school system, said winners for the year in the seven categories were:

Student, Prince Arnold of Central High; Parent, Shanakaw Rudolph of Central Elementary; Volunteer, Annie Hayes of Central Elementary; Support Personnel, Christine Washington, secretary at Fort Deposit Elementary; Teacher, Michael Taylor at Fort Deposit Elementary; Principal, Kenneth Fair of The Calhoun School; and Administrator, Bernard Mitchell, director of federal programs, central office.

Email newsletter signup

Martin said retirees recognized included Loretta Herbert, head cook, Lowndes Middle School, 21 years; Ivory Gilchrist, Head Start teacher, Fort Deposit Elementary, 46 years; and Sandra Robinson, accounts payable clerk, central office, 12 years.

Outstanding partners were SABIC and Tomi Selby of Information Transport Solutions, said Martin.

“We appreciate the dedication and the hard work of individuals to support teaching and learning in our district,” said Lowndes County School Superintendent Dr. Daniel Boyd. “It is because of their efforts we’re able to continue to improve teaching and learning.”

Boyd said, “My hat goes off to the parents, the students, the volunteers and our employees for a job well done.”

The keynote speaker was Dr. Valerie Cave, education specialist with Information Transport Solutions.

Martin also recognized the Gold Ambassadors of Central High who served as hostesses for the event. She said they included Jasmine Abner, Jada Bullock, Kadejia Trone, Laquita Richardson, Nigeria Oden and Samantha Dixon.

“It could not have been a success without the Golden Ambassadors,” Martin Said.

She said category winners also received gifts that were donated to the school district.