LCUFA to sponsor political forum

Published 1:40 pm Wednesday, April 28, 2010

By Eason Franklin
The Lowndes Signal

Lowndes Citizens United for Action (LCUFA) is sponsoring a political forum on Friday, April 30 at 6 p.m. for the candidates who qualified for the June 1 election.

The non-partisan, non-profit forum is to take place in the main courtroom at the Lowndes County courthouse in Hayneville.

Email newsletter signup

A total of 26 candidates including those running for District 69, coroner, the school board, County Commission districts one and four, Sheriff, State Senators from districts 23 and 30 among others have personally received a letter from LCUFA requesting their attendance.

Traditionally, candidates would attend and discuss their political agendas, but residents will have the opportunity to present questions.

Citizens attending the forum will be asked to write questions for the candidates after each nominee has been given the opportunity to offer a brief statement regarding their political agenda.

The questions will then be directed toward each candidate and responses timed by moderator Andrea Price.

Invitations were sent to the various political candidates on April 7 requesting their attendance and was followed up with emails and phone calls from LCUFA President Debra Harris.

“We would just ask the candidates to come out and give their agendas,” said Harris. “This is a community education project sponsored by LCUFA and no candidate will be charged for attending.”

The annual event has taken place since 2004, according to Harris, and will be held at the courthouse for the first time this year.

Previously the forum has been held at the Hayneville Plaza Ball Room the LCUFA building and White Hall’s Town Hall

A large number of residents throughout Lowndes County are expected to attend.

Democratic candidates include:

Lowndes County Commission, District 1
– George Elijah
– Robert Harris

Lowndes County Commission, District 4
– Joey (Joseph L., Jr.) Barganier
– Willie Ray Lassic

Lowndes County Board of Education, District 3
– Donald J. Carter, Jr.
– Evelyn Louise McCall
– Debbie Tammy Webb

Lowndes County Board of Education, District 4
– Steve (Steven Travis) Foster

Lowndes County Sheriff
– Harold F. Bell
– B.C. Cooper
– Charlie “Chip” Williams
– John “Big John” Williams, Sr.

Lowndes County Coroner
– Doris Bean Alexander

Lowndes County Democratic Executive Committee
– Joey (Joseph L., Jr.) Barganier (Ft. Deposit)
– Patricia c. Davis (Sandy Ridge)
– Dickson Farrior (Hayneville)
– Steve (Steven Travis) Foster (Ft. Deposit)
– Debra E. Harris (Burkville)
– Uralee A. Haynes (Mosses)
– Samuel Howard, Jr. (Lowndesboro)
– Kelly G. Lambert, Jr. (Burkville)
– Loretta Moss (Mosses)
– Lashandra Myrick (Braggs)
– Yvette R. Patterson (Burkville)
– Ida B. Poole (Sandy Ridge)
– Eli Seaborn (White Hall)
– Jimmie Stringer (Collirene)
– Diane P. Stuckey (Sandy Ridge)
– Gwendolyn Thicklin (Braggs)

Republican candidates include:

Lowndes County Coroner
– Audrey Marlette

Lowndes County Republican Executive Committee
– June Browder
– Crystal Eagerton
– Paul S. Sloane

Lowndes County Republican Executive Committee District 1
– Alfred Hite

Lowndes County Republican Executive Committee District 3
– Robert (Bob) Overstreet

Lowndes County Republican Executive Committee District 4
– Fred Eagerton, Sr.
– Nancy Eagerton
– Charles Martindale
– Rebecca Bates Sloane

Lowndes County Republican Executive Committee District 5
– Audrey Marlette